Independent

07 Independent

I am independent. Why does that thought seem so weird to you? Being independent does not mean being alone. Being independent is not necessarily an external construct. I am independent, because I dare to think for myself.

In order to live in an adult and equal relationship, both partners first need to be adult and independent in order to construct a life with each other and practice equality. Not every relationship is based upon such values, but unless both partners agree to an imbalance of power and wish it to be there (which in itself is a sign of independence, since that choice can be made freely in that case), the relationship will never be equal and adult and is in danger of being abusive. Even in a relationship both partners need to be independent and if only for the purpose of freely choosing the dependence upon each other.

Such is also the independence of the individual regarding society. In a society in which every member is dependent upon another force to make decisions or produce moral guidance, independence and individuality are eradicated.

Blind belief in authority is the greatest enemy of truth. – Albert Einstein

Such societies indoctrinate and blind their members under the guise of protection from real or imagined forces, be they political, social or religious. Such a society can turn on its dissidents and it can easily plummet into a reign of terror by the powers that be. Whenever the independence of the individual is crippled a society is in danger of turning its members into feeble slaves of the system.

A society of the feeble, the fooled, the toxic, the frightened, the blinded and the poor, cannot be changed by becoming one with it. However even if you weren’t able to change society, being independent will lead to a better life for you. You choose who you surround yourself with, so let your immediate circle of 5 be one of optimists, lovers, people who grow and people who delight in seeing you grow. Leave the toxic, the volatile and the deadly behind and think for yourself.

Follow the path of the unsafe, independent thinker. Expose your ideas to the danger of controversy. Speak your mind and fear less the label of ‘crackpot’ than the stigma of conformity. – Thomas J. Watson

Dare to be different. Be your own hero and do not let anybody make you part of the sheeple. Do not turn into a victim of circumstances, not even in your own mind. Do not follow everything blindly, but question the status quo and think critically.

Your thoughts are your own and nobody can control them unless you give up control. As long as you are able to think for yourself and as long as you are open to argument and thought, you have the potential to see through indoctrination and to avoid it.

Freethinkers are those who are willing to use their minds without prejudice and without fearing to understand things that clash with their own customs, privileges, or beliefs. This state of mind is not common, but it is essential for right thinking… – Leo Tolstoy

As long as you have the audacity to make up your own mind instead of having it made up for you, the bravery to stand up for yourself, the courage to conquer the fear of being the only one speaking up, you will be independent.

As long as you have the guts to be happy on your own, to be fearless in your walk and to be daring, defiant and devoted to yourself, you will not become a mindless slave to the system.

Be yourself; don’t be what others want you to be.

Don’t just be different for the sake of being different. Be yourself, independently of what others think. – The Real Jeannette

Because I am independent, I am daring enough to pursue my dreams.

Because I am independent, I am victorious in my endeavours.

Because I am independent, I am happy and full of hope.

Because I am independent, I am devoted to my cause.

Because I am independent, I am triumphant.

Because I am independent, I am excited about the future.

Because I am independent, I am able to be a hero for myself and others.

Because I am independent, I am able to work my own magic.

Because I am independent, I am a fearless leader of others.

Because I am independent, I am cheerful and grateful.

I am independent.

Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery. None but ourselves can free our minds. – Bob Marley

Have the breathtaking audacity to be independent, the bravery and the backbone to believe in yourself, the fearless defiance to question authority, the staggering ability shape your own present and future.

Be yourself in all your beauty and triumph over the system. Be the hero of your own history. Make your own choices and walk along the path that fits you.

Live every day with amazing boldness and with jaw-dropping clarity. Be responsible for your own life and your own actions and have the heart as well as the guts to choose your path daily and with every decision you encounter.

You are the only one who can make you independent, regardless of how many chains people place on you. You cannot lose your independence without your consent, so don’t let the system break you. Dare to be you, dare to stand up for yourself and dare to be independent.

People can tell you to keep your mouth shut, but that doesn’t stop you from having your own opinion. – Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl

Leave a comment